ALBUM REVIEW: Andy Moor “Zero Point One” by Lindsey Lou


Andy Moor is a DJ focused on continually expanding his musical boundaries, so it isn’t too shocking that Mr. Moor set the bar high for himself with his first CD, Zero Point One.

This album has danceable groove, but it isn’t the sort of thing you’d play if you want to get pumped before a party. It is the type of album you can relax to on the couch, with your feet up, after a long day of work, or when cleaning the house.

After Atmospherica, the wonderfully ambient intro track that stirs the same feelings in me that I feel from the intros of some of my progressive psy-trance CD’s, I was anticipating a continual/dramatic jump in tempo. This might be because I saw a live and intense trance set from Moor at the Beta nightclub in Waterloo, ON last winter. To my pleasant surprise, however, this album remains chill, picking up for a bit after the 2nd track but never exceeding 135 bpm. In my opinion (an EDM lover that doesn’t go out too often), I think this was a good choice on Moor’s part. His CD has drive, but it is consistent and steady. It is uplifting, but it doesn’t demand high levels of energy.

After the 2nd track, November Morning, the album is dominated by lyrical trance, and the variety of quality vocal artists that appear in the tracklist (below) is impressive. The talent of these vocal artists speaks for itself, but it is not the vocals that hold these tracks together. Coupled with the intricate and fluid sounds from Moor, these lyrics just add complexity to the tracks that, overall, demand a keen listening ear. Track 4, Undeserved, is the first track (of several) that I played on repeat. Meredith Call‘s voice is so warm, and these lyrics really speak to me. There I was in my living room, headphones on, goosebumps materialized, singing along with tears welled in my eyes. I was already lost, and I was less than halfway through!

I only have positive criticism this time around. I leave the rest to your ears. Andy Moor clearly put a lot of work into this production! Unless lyrical trance is definitely not your thing, I encourage you to give this CD a chance. Not to mention that it contains a lot of good tracks for a reasonable price. I’ve listened to CD’s in the past consisting of 11 tracks, only 3 or 4 of which were good. This CD has almost 20 tracks, and I like them all. The Andy Moor folder on my computer is finally growing larger.

1. Atmospherica
2. November Morning
3. Please Forgive Me (feat. Nicole McKenna)
4. Undeserved (feat. Meredith Call)
5. Ordinary People (& Daniel Paul Davis)
6. World to Turn (with Ashley Wallbridge feat. Gabriela)
7. Love Again (with Betsie Larkin)
8. Elysian Fields (feat. Carrie Skipper)
9. Trespass (feat. Sue Mclaren)
10. Leave Your World Behind (feat. Hysteria!)
11. In Your Arms (feat. Jessica Sweetman)
12. Orbithing (with Orkidea)
13. Tora’s Angel (feat. Carrie Skipper)
14. Story of My Life (feat. Carrie Skipper)
15. Don’t Sound the Alarm (feat. Jeza)
16. K Ta
17. Time Will Tell (feat. Stine Grove)
18. Turning Me On (feat. Slimmie)

Lindsey LouEDM TOR


About Author

Adele Desloges

Adele is the owner of Tranceported. She also heads up the social media as well as the photo and video teams, and was a promoter of events across the Toronto area for years. She has been a fan of Trance music since the mid-90s and has been shooting Trance events since 2011..

Comments are closed.