ALBUMS: Eliot Lipp to release “Watch the Shadows” on 14-10-14


Eliot Lipp is a Brooklyn based music producer, touring artist, and analog synthesis black belt. Named one of Vibe magazine’s ‘Top 10 Fastest Rising DJs of 2013’, Lipp is on the cusp of releasing his 2nd full-length album with Pretty Lights Music, entitled “Watch the Shadows” (to be released October 14th, 2014 as a free download and on iTunes).

Lipp has pushed his ‘golden age hip-hop meets the synthesizer’ production style into new territory, by fusing soulful organic sounds and all new dance floor mechanics with his classic buttery synth-hop sound, and his undeniably signature melodic charm.

“Watch The Shadows” is as consistently fresh as it is stylistically diverse. This was the driving factor behind making two tracks available upon the album’s announcement. Lipp explores new genres and styles, yet the album stays true and cohesive from start to finish.

Lipp collaborated with indie-electro duo Cherub on the album’s official single, The Western. It’s a no nonsense beat on a minimal yet rugged electronic landscape, traversed effortlessly by Cherub’s beautifully taunting vocals. This track gives a glimpse of the album’s stylistic diversity, but mostly, it’s a hot track that invokes the desire to get down and get dirty.

The album’s title track, Watch the Shadows, is classic Eliot Lipp meets time traveling Eliot Lipp from the future. The beat breathes and moves with life and emotion while the production quality is tasteful, purposeful, and top notch. This track hits no matter where it’s heard.

Lipp is constantly striving to think outside the box and create music with real cultural significance. This is clear when he describes part of his inspiration behind “Watch the Shadows”.

“I was listening to an old jazz song and this one lyric & melody were really jumping out at me. I traced the melody all the way back to very early Spanish folk music from the 1500s. The way the melody had survived and evolved over such a long period of time really amazed me. It made me want to make modern music that pays respect to the endless forgotten beauty of the past, and at the same time, adds to the not yet discovered inspiration of the future.”

By maintaining core elements of his sound and melodic style—that he spent his career developing—while only sampling original material and turning the soul and swagger level up to ten, Lipp succeeded in making “Watch the Shadows” the album that he set out to make. It’s a body of work that is truly original, and undeniably fresh.

Featured artists on the album include Nick Bockrath of Cage the Elephant, who plays guitar on Future Forest and Ain’t No Guarantee.

Download the first two singles for free here!


1. Watch the Shadows
2. Still Life
3. The Western (ft. Cherub)
4. Future Forest
5. The Air
6. Ain’t No Guarantee
7. Temporary Residence
8. Fresh (ft. SuperVision)
9. Like a Ghost
10. Strangers Getting Stranger


Eliot Lipp


About Author


Comments are closed.