NEWS: Deep Dish Releases Toronto Limited Edition Collectors Edition Box Set


Iconic dance music label Global Underground announces that on July 1st it will be releasing an Exclusive Limited Edition “Collectors Edition” box set of the US Billboard #1 album, “GU025 Deep Dish, Toronto”.

Included in the package will be a stunning 116 page hard back Toronto Travelogue Book, Limited Edition GU Postcards, GU Luggage Tag and a 24 page “Book Pack” Deluxe Version of the CD all housed in a beautiful bespoke red GU Box. The Travelogue comes with an exclusive foreword from writer Dom Phillips and is crammed full of photographer Dean Belcher‘s iconic images of Deep Dish themselves, the city of Toronto, and of course the legendary night at The Guvernment club back in December 2002 – a large amount of the photos used are exclusive to the book and have never been seen before. The album will also be made available on Deluxe CD format and for download at all digital stores such as iTunes and Beatport.

deep dish toronto box set

It’s been 16 years since Deep Dish’s Toronto mix first came out. Now re-released in this commemorative set to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Global Underground, it still sounds timeless. But Deep Dish/Toronto is more than a classic mix. It’s also a portrait of a moment in time, when Toronto’s nightlife was ruled by a 5,000-capacity, multi-roomed super-club called Guvernment – a futuristic music factory that dominated a desolate stretch of waterfront now booming with redevelopment. It also had a live venue alongside, the Kool Haus and big raves linked both venues together. The complex became a landmark in Toronto – not just physically, but culturally as well. The Rolling Stones played there. Daft Punk and Macy Gray played there. Deadmau5 made his name there. Sasha and Digweed played there.

This collection represents one of the most consistently creative teams in electronic music at the peak of their powers. CD1’s sinuous grooves snake through liquid rhythms and occasional sultry vocals. CD2 raises the stakes with tougher beats, echoed vocals and big-room melodramatics. But the sound is just part of it. Just as they caught the energy and life of the party, Dean Belcher’s vivid photos, full of life, light and colours, also captured the city, especially the Queens Quay port area, at a moment in time.

Preorder the box set here!

01. Louie Vega & Jay “Sinister” Sealee feat. Julie McKnight – Diamond Life./ + Stephane K – Numb (Meat Katie Remix).
02. Sultan feat. Stephanie Vezina – Nightvisions.
03. 5th Order – Sineweaver.
04. Electroland – Drop Beat
05. Sultan & The Greek – Rezin.
Samio feat. Bee – Into Black (acapella).
06. Cheky & Spider – In Love (Killer Mix).
07. Electric Mood featuring Melanie S. – Sacred Dance.
08. Valentino – Flying (Sultan & The Greek Remix).
09. Moony – Doves (I’ll be Loving You) (John Creamer & Stephane K Remix).
10. Martin Accorsi & Jeremy Bassetti – Until The End.
11. Seroya – Only Your Love (Holmes Ives Remix).

01. Situation 2w0 – Way2tite.
02. Elisa – Time (Planet Funk mix).
03. Junkie XL & Sasha – Breezer.
04. Sander Kleinenberg feat Miss Bunty – Work To Do.
05. Paul Rogers – Krafty.
06. Paul Rogers – Krafty. (G-Pal Sea Paradise Mix).
07. Lowriders – Part 1.
08. Miro – The One I Run To.
09. Phil Kieran – I Love You.
10. Knight Keys produced by Hani – Never Felt This Way (Behrouz & Andy Caldwell Remix).
11. Maurice & Noble – HoochiKoochi.
12. The Youngsters – Break Them Up.
13. Holden and Thompson – Nothing (93 Returning Mix).

Deep Dish


About Author

Comments are closed.